Villarini Wins Young Investigator Award

By Mikael Mulugeta

Villarini on scooter

Villarini has won the first 2017 Water Young Investigator Award.

Gabriele Villarini, associate director of IIHR—Hydroscience & Engineering, has won the 2017 Water Young Investigator Award.

The award recognizes Villarini, a UI associate professor of civil and environmental engineering, for the excellence of his research in water science. Villarini’s work has played an integral role in changing the way the scientific community uses and validates remote-sensing products, examining aspects of time series of floods and extreme rainfall, and for introducing useful concepts and applications of scaling properties of hydrological fields.

“This is the first year this award has existed, and I am very excited to be the first one selected to receive it,” says Villarini. “I want to thank the selection committee and my nominator, Professor Witold Krajewski.”

The Multidisciplinary Digital Publishing Institute (MDPI), an academic open-access publisher headquartered in Basel, Switzerland, presents the Water Young Investigator Award to a researcher in recognition of her/his significant contribution to the advancement of the fields of water science, technology, management and governance. To be considered for the award, researchers must be under the age of 40 or 10 years or fewer removed from receiving their PhD.

Haugen awarded E.B. Kurtz Senior Merit Award

Iowa Flood Center student Paul Haugen, is this year’s recipient of the E.B. Kurtz Senior Merit Award. Haugen’s work at the Iowa Flood Center focuses on the design and implementation of the communication format between the stream stage sensors and the network. The E.B. Kurtz Senior Merit Award is given in recognition of high scholarship, character, professional promise and service to the Dept. of Electrical Engineering and the UI College of Engineering. Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering,Published on: April 29th, 2012